Global Leadership Continues for GV Alumni

Written by Amanda Horvath, ’07-’08

I’m entering my senior year as environmental studies and Spanish major and the University of Portland. I recently returned from Quito, Ecuador where I was studying for five months. In addition to my studies, I traveled to colonial cities, the Amazon Rainforest, the Galapagos, and everything in between. I also spent time working with at-risk youth and child workers as a tutor and environmental educator.

Upon my return to the states, I interned with the Washington Fair Trade Coalition on a project aimed at demonstrating the ways in which people, specifically migrant farm workers, are impacted by trade policy.

Thinking into the future, I’m applying for a Fulbright Scholarship to Ecuador to research the importance of community and the role of food and food policies in an indigenous community. I am also applying for a teaching program in Chile and to be an AmeriCorps volunteer.

Reflecting on my last six months and time abroad, I came to realize the value of time and in doing so came to realize that everything happens for a reason. Had it not been for GV, I may not have ended up on the path of environmental and social justice nor had the confidence and leadership skills to walk to path I’ve chosen.

One thought on “Global Leadership Continues for GV Alumni

Leave a Reply

