Spring ’17 Trip Report #1

From: Rory Murphy (Junior Leader, Spring Immersion 2017)

Reported on April 12, 2017, day 5 of the Spring ‘17 Immersion

“This year’s Spring cohort to Guatemala has been a whirlwind so far. Going on the immersion the second time, now as a junior leader, has been completely different than the first. There are a lot more responsibilities that I have taken. Even though it is very busy, I cannot articulate how much happiness the first year participants bring me. I had such a great immersion last year that I want to do everything in my power to make sure that their experience is just as good if not better. I saw my first glimpse of the so-called “special sauce” today. In the reflection our hospital team held after work, it got very emotional. The participants reflected on their emotions and status in the world. I felt such a bond like no other with the participants. I cannot wait to see where the rest of the immersion takes us.”

Leave a Reply

