SPRING ’17 TRIP REPORT #3

From: Emily Black (Junior Leader, Spring Immersion 2017)

Reported on April 16, 2017, day 9 of the Spring ’17 Immersion

Take 2 in Guatemala.

The moment I stepped off the plane in Guatemala City I was hit with a smell I could only describe as ¨Guatemala.¨ It’s amazing how such a small thing like the scent of an airport I hadn’t been to in two years can make me wide awake at 1:30 in the morning.

The immersion has flown by. I cannot believe that there are only 4 days left. It feels like just yesterday I was here for the first time. But of course I wasn’t, because yesterday I was at Iximche (the Mayan ruins). Being so far into the immersion I can see the growth of myself and the people around me. People who didn’t know a lick of Spanish on Day 1 are now able to talk about colors, and for being here for just over a week, that’s impressive. The end is in sight and with each passing day it becomes more and more apparent that Guatemala hasn’t seen the last of me.

gv2

Leave a Reply

