SUMMER INTENSIVE ’17 TRIP REPORT #1

From: Skylar McLoughlin (Junior Leader, Summer Intensive 2017)

Reported on July 25, 2017, Day 3 of the Summer Intensive ’17

Early Immersion Reflections.

Today makes the third day of Intensive 2017. It’s amazing how different my feelings are, being in Guatemala for a second time. Going into a leadership position as a Junior Leader, I was under the impression would constantly be very overwhelmed and stressed out, but it is actually the opposite. Being a Junior Leader means I’m helping each participant to be a leader.  It is my responsibility to guide them on that journey. It is extremely rewarding to see everyone in my group stepping up, taking a lead and handling their jobs with ease.  That effort has made my job that much easier. Of course, there are areas we all need to improve upon, (first-year and us junior leaders), but I have to remember that this only the beginning and there is much more time to grow and improve their leadership skills.

Personally, the trip has been slightly underwhelming but not necessarily in a bad way. I am coming back to Guatemala already familiar with the country, the people, the food, our day-to-day activities.  The only thing that is new to me is my job as a Junior Leader. I have mixed feelings about being familiar with that country, and the trip itself. The first time I came to Guatemala, I fell in love with the culture, the food, how colorful everything is, and how kind people are.  I am still completely in love with all of these things, but none of it is as eye-opening as it was the first time –  and I was really hoping I would have the same eye-opening, life-changing experience.  However, in the last few days I have realized it is my job to give that life-changing experience to all of the participants so that they fall in love with Guatemala the way I did. It is very difficult for me to write down my feelings and explain everything that is going on in my brain, because there’s all kinds of things happening up there. It is also extremely difficult for me to explain how life changing this trip was/is for me and there really is no way of knowing without experiencing it for yourself.

So… there is a little glimpse into life in Guatemala for us GVers.  I only hope that I was able to give you a better understanding of the impact of Global Visionaries.

Leave a Reply

