SUMMER INTENSIVE ’17 TRIP REPORT #2

From: Kaya Lohnes (Junior Leader, Summer Intensive 2017)

Reported on July 27, 2017, Day 5 of the Summer Intensive ‘17

Working in the hospital has given me a true sense of human nature. I see all of similarities between myself and my life with the people in the hospital, rather than the differences. The grandmother Viky smiles and I smile; I communicate with my words and she communicates with her body and her happy noises. I’ve seen the power of love, the power of music, the power of touch, the power of feeling. Whether I’m walking in circles with someone singing “Estrellita,” sitting in silence holding their hands, or having a conversation about anything and everything, each moment is eye-opening. I’ve had to challenge myself in countless ways and it hasn’t even been 5 days in the hospital.

Leave a Reply

